Spec Deck: November 2019

Welcome to the first installment of Secret Society Comics’ Spec Deck! My name is Frank, and I will be your local resident comic book speculator. I’ve been collecting for 25 years and seen quite a few ups and downs in the secondary market. I love the story more than anything, but who doesn’t also like to know something they own holds value?

So with that in mind, take a gander at the official first five selections of Spec Deck.

Breathers #1

I really like simple but effective art, like what I am seeing here.  I always feel like books with this style are bound to become cult classics.

I really dislike almost all comics that claim to take place in a dystopian world though.  We get it, pretty much all possibilities at this point are bleak!

What gives this title a bit of an edge, though, is the extremely unique character dynamics that seem to be in play.  Reading this description you truly get a feel for what you are about to be dropped in to.

I have a really good feeling about this comic.  It will sell out and it will command between $20-$30 on the secondary market.  

Folklords #1

Full disclosure, I went all in on Once & Future and Something is Killing the Children.  (Like almost unhealthy amounts of effort were put in to getting every single last printing of the first issues.)  

So you may be surprised to hear that I don’t see Folklords being the same kind of surprise hit as ‘Once’ and ‘Children’ were.  Main reason being that we are all prepared for it this time.

BOOM! Studios: your local comic shop and every collector out there knows what just happened with ‘Once’ and ‘Children’ and no one wants to be caught with their pants down again.  

I will be picking this book up for sure; it sounds like a fun read.  But don’t look for it to spike in price at all any time soon.  Additionally, even if it were to be optioned some day, there are going to be a lot of speculators picking it up to re-sell.  If there ever is option news, the market will be saturated.  

This will be an easy book to obtain for years to come.  

Crone #1

This book is the hardest for me to gauge.  I want to say it could be a breakout hit, but at the same time… that is how I felt about Unearth and Sea of Stars at one point. 

Some books just look too good to be true.  Almost designed to stimulate certain aspects of the brain at first glance.  This one feels like a book that is going to be overordered.  

I also don’t love any catchline that is “equal parts this and that.” I think this is a solid pass for me and honestly it looks like future dollar bin fodder.  

I cannot stress enough though: if you think the story sounds cool, BUY IT!  That is what comics are for.  Speculating is just a fun side note.  

Crow Hark the Herald #1

I love Tim Seeley, I love Hack/Slash, I LOVE The Crow and loved Crow Hack/Slash. 

This book will not sell out and it will not go for any more than cover price any time soon.  However, I cannot imagine a future world where The Crow isn’t resurrected as a successful franchise.  There will be a day when The Crow merch, collectibles, and comics are a commodity.  

I’m getting this book because I literally love everything about it.  I don’t expect for it to ever be worth a fortune, but I do expect for it to hold its value or increase slightly in value over time, which is much more than most comics can say.

Rising Sun #1

Last but certainly not least is what could easily be the leader of the pack.  You always have to watch out for slick Japanese inspired art, it sells copies without a doubt. 

The description is short and sweet.  I’m left wanting to know more.  Sometimes you want to read an entire review of a comic or movie before jumping in to it.  However with something like a kung fu flick or a horror movie, you just want the very basic plot without anyone else’s interpretation of it.  

“Many monsters who are ravaging the country!”  

You don’t need to over explain something like that, I am sold and I think alot of other people will be as well. This is a book to watch out for, I can definitely see it selling out and going for anywhere between $6-$12 on the secondary market.  

Obviously long term potential is all about staying power. 

Published by

NewHeyah

I read all the comics and watch too many horror movies.

Leave a comment